Petition · Humane Society of Southwest Washington : Allow adopted animals their right to be able to return home · Change.org

Note from me… As a volunteer at the shelter for many years…I know how the Humane Society can circle their wagons and their rules need to be changed for situations like this one.

Losing a pet can be devastating, they need to contact the new adopters and let them know the situation, and hopefully they will return the cat, and adopt another kitty and give that one a forever home.

Tina is only asking for 200 signatures, but I want more signatures!!!!

Please sign this petition and share her story, this needs to to get out to the public.

Tina Evarts started this petition to Humane Society of Southwest Washington and 2 others

My cat was adopted from the humane society under the name “Goofus” while I was out of town for a little over a month. I had no idea he was even missing until after I’d returned back to Vancouver. By the time I was able to determine where he was, I was told I was too late to get him back. I’ve relentlessly been doing everything I can think of in hopes of finding him. My requests to have my information passed onto the family that adopted him have been rejected every time. In a response to my email I’d sent to the Board of Directors I was denied my request and told that it’s important for the shelter to maintain a certain reputation or image to the community and that people who adopt an animal tend to form a bond quickly with their new pet. If that’s honestly any concern to you, then why have I been repeatedly told that if he ever ends up back in your shelter, an alert will come up in your system to notify me? If that means you’d one day be willing to give him back to me, why not just do it now? If you’re worried about damaging your reputation or level of trust within the community, I would be more concerned with the individuals who are hired on to represent your shelter. Recently, after making a routine post on a lost pet page thru Facebook, I was publicly harassed for approximately an hour by an employee of the Southwest Washington humane society for trying to find my cat. She told me it was my own fault my cat was gone and I had no right even asking to have him back. I was in tears trying to defend myself from every hurtful statement she kept making, but in complete shock that someone could even do something like this to another person. She had no right doing what she did or saying any of the things she’d said to me. It was completely unprofessional and uncalled for. It isnt wrong for me to want my cat back because I would’ve never let him go in the first place. In my opinion, in order to correct the situation I should be given my cat back immediately along with an apology from your employee for her unacceptable behavior.

https://www.change.org/p/humane-society-of-southwest-washington-allow-adopted-animals-their-right-to-be-able-to-return-home-64bdc277-afed-46ee-8015-b6fc5d35c316